SumUp vs Zettle vs Square Readers for Cafes
SumUp, Zettle and Square card readers compared for cafes using each vendor's own page in October 2026: reader prices, in person fees, plans and when each wins.
Updated 3 min read

On this page
Key takeaways
- The three published in person rates are close: SumUp 1.69%, Zettle 1.75% and Square 1.75% for UK cards.
- SumUp's optional Payments Plus plan at £19 a month cuts the rate to 0.99% on domestic consumer cards, which pays off at higher volumes.
- Reader prices differ more than rates: SumUp from £25, Zettle from £29 for new users, Square £19, all excluding VAT.
- A cafe that wants a kitchen screen, table plan and online ordering needs more than a reader, so compare the system and not only the device.
In short: for a cafe the three are close on card rates and differ more on reader price and what sits around the reader. Prices are from each vendor's own page in October 2026. We list what each page states and say where it does not.
Side by side
| SumUp | Zettle | Square | |
|---|---|---|---|
| In person rate | 1.69% pay as you go (SumUp) | 1.75% for major cards and wallets, including American Express (Zettle) | 1.75% UK cards (Square) |
| Entry reader | Solo Lite £25 excluding VAT | Card reader from £29 for new users, excluding VAT | Reader £19 plus VAT |
| Terminal | Terminal £135 excluding VAT | Terminal from £149 excluding VAT | Terminal £149 plus VAT |
| Monthly fee | None on pay as you go; Payments Plus £19 a month or £189 a year | None: "no contracts or recurring fees" | Free plan; Plus optional |
| Lower rate option | 0.99% on domestic consumer cards with Payments Plus | None listed | None listed |
| Phone as reader | Tap to Pay £0 | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page |
| Guarantee | 30 day money back, 1 year hardware warranty | Not stated | Not stated |
SumUp
SumUp's readers are the cheapest entry, with Tap to Pay listed at £0 and a pay as you go rate of 1.69% and no monthly fee. Payments Plus changes the maths for a busy cafe. The 0.99% rate applies to domestic consumer cards, with international, corporate and premium cards at 1.69%.
Zettle
Zettle lists one rate, 1.75%, for major cards and wallets, with no recurring fees and no contracts. The listed card reader price is for new business users, with additional readers at £69, and a dock or barcode scanner cost extra. Funds are paid to a PayPal Business account, and bank transfers carry no added fee.
Square
Square's reader is £19 plus VAT, and its terminal £149 plus VAT. The free plan has no monthly fee. For a cafe the difference is the system behind the reader: tables, a kitchen display from £15 per device a month and online ordering with no monthly fee or commission. See Square for restaurants compared.
A worked example
Round, made up numbers: a cafe takes £10,000 a month by card.
| Option | Fees a month |
|---|---|
| SumUp pay as you go, 1.69% | £169 |
| SumUp Payments Plus, if 80% is domestic consumer cards: 0.99% on £8,000 plus 1.69% on £2,000, plus £19 | £79.20 plus £33.80 plus £19, so £132 |
| Zettle, 1.75% | £175 |
| Square, 1.75% | £175 |
The 80% split is invented; use your own. At this volume the plan saves about £37 a month. Under about £2,700 of domestic consumer card sales a month it would not.
When a reader is not enough
If you serve at tables, run a kitchen with screens or want your own ordering page, a reader and a basic app will not cover it. Look at full systems in best POS for small cafes and coffee shops.
DineHarbor is not a card provider. It connects to your own provider and supports Stripe Terminal readers, so you can still choose a reader like those above or another provider. It costs £69, £129 or £219 a month per location, excluding VAT.
Decision shortcut
- Mostly small spends, low volume: the lowest reader price and a flat rate.
- Busy counter, high card share: price SumUp's Payments Plus.
- Table service and kitchen: price a system, not a reader.
See card payment fees for how to read a quote.
Questions and answers
Which card reader is cheapest for a cafe?
On published in person rates, SumUp's 1.69% is lowest on pay as you go, and 0.99% on domestic consumer cards with Payments Plus. Zettle and Square are 1.75%. Reader prices also differ.
Do these readers have monthly fees?
Zettle lists no recurring fees. SumUp's pay as you go has none, with optional Payments Plus at £19 a month. Square's free plan has no monthly fee, with paid plans optional.
Do I need a till system as well?
For a counter only cafe a reader with a simple app may do. For table service, kitchen screens or online ordering you need a full system.
Are these prices including VAT?
SumUp's reader prices are stated excluding VAT, Zettle's reader prices are excluding VAT and Square's hardware is shown plus VAT. Fee percentages do not state VAT.
See it in DineHarbor
About the author
Editorial team
The DineHarbor team writes this blog for restaurant owners and managers. Every article is checked against the product before it is published, so what we describe is what the software does.
All articles by DineHarbor team

